Connectivism Mindmap

Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 9.18.50 AM

How has your network changed the way you learn?

http://www.weforum.org/pdf/gitr/1.2.pdf  This resource indicates that we are part of the Age of Information and Telecommunications era. Farnsworth (et. al) conveys that the lines between work and home life are more blurred than ever before. I find that I am being inundated with more information than ever before. I have had to learn to filter information because so much is available.   My mind automatically sorts what it deems to be relevant and skims through the rest as junk. I find that this means I’m constantly skimming and sometimes this learning tool is bad. For example, I skimmed the email that was sent by my daughter’s basketball coach and didn’t see that she was supposed to wear her green jersey instead of her black.   The email was so lengthy and I’m so used to skimming for pertinent information, that I didn’t pay attention to that detail (and my daughter was the only girl inappropriately dressed for the game).

Which digital tools best facilitate learning for you?

I learn the most from Facebook. I am exposed to information in my feed that I’ve selected. Additionally, I have friends who share their news articles and interesting reads. http://oursocialtimes.com/6-examples-of-social-media-crises-what-can-we-learn/

While there are significant problems that have happened on Facebook (and made me very nervous about what I broadcast), I find that what I learn each day is much more important.

How do you learn new knowledge when you have questions?

When I have questions I usually Google it. If it’s a specific ‘how to do’ something then I find YouTube helpful. Watching videos helps sometimes, and makes me much more of an expert on subjects like ‘how to change my car headlight bulb’.

Resources:

“6 Examples of Social Media Crises: What Can We Learn? | Our Social Times – Social Media Agency, Social Media Training.” Our Social Times Social Media Agency Social Media Training. N.p., n.d. Web. 19 Jan. 2015. <http://oursocialtimes.com/6-examples-of-social-media-crises-what-can-we-learn/&gt;.

Farnsworth, Roger, Lionel Gibbons, Tracey Lewis, and Marsha Powell. Networks Changing the Way We Work, Live, Play, and Learn (n.d.): n. pag. Cisco Systems, Inc. Web. 19 Jan. 2015. <http://www.weforum.org/pdf/gitr/1.2.pdf&gt;.

3 thoughts on “Connectivism Mindmap”

  1. Hi Jeannie,

    I enjoyed reading and reflecting on your post. I concur with your notion that Information Age has exposed us to vast resources, which may be overwhelming. We live in the era where technology and the Internet allow us access to insurmountable information, with a mouse-click. The difficult part to acquire knowledge is to differentiate truth from fiction. I do believe mastering the skill to filter and verify new knowledge gives us a platform to share accurate and high-quality knowledge in any given forum.

    Social networking sites, such as Facebook, twitter and what’s up provide me with information of what’s happening in the lives of family and friends, all over the world. Lastly, I find Google and YouTube useful when teaching mathematical concepts, because students can search for solutions online or view videos of steps on how to solve given problems.

    Warmest regards,
    Benjamin

Leave a comment