Response to Kerr (et.al)’s Blog

Kerr (2007) wonders “Should we stick to -isms or should we be more pragmatic and just cherry pick different useful ideas out of the various theories?” When I read this it was like he had expressed my thoughts as I read and study various learning theories. I really do believe that most educators would not say that there is a definitive learning style. There are a myriad of children with various needs, different ways of learning (intuitively) and a wide array of skills to teach. I sincerely doubt there is a teacher alive that would refuse a proven strategy because they believe that behaviorism or cognitivism is the ultimate learning theory.

As I’ve learned about these theories, I’ve discovered that I already pick and chose different strategies as I’m developing my lesson plans. It is nice to know the names of the learning theories because having a label for a theory makes it seem a bit more legitimate. I definitely like knowing that strategies I’ve always used are research based, and proven.

A lot of academics seem to agree with my sentiments. While behaviorism doesn’t work all of the time, in every situation, there are situations in which it can be quite effective. The same can be said with cognitivist theories.

References:

Kerr, B. (2007, January 1). _isms as filter, not blinker [Web log post]. Retrieved fromhttp://billkerr2.blogspot.com/2007/01/isms-as-filter-not-blinker.html

2 thoughts on “Response to Kerr (et.al)’s Blog”

  1. Your colleagues are similar to mine, in that they are always willing to use evidence-based strategies to facilitate learning. I think where teachers falter is when they are expected to use onerous strategies that do not have any features to compensate for the weaknesses in the prevailing strategies.

    1. Your statement: “onerous strategies that do not have any features to compensate for the weaknesses in the prevailing strategies” took a lot of thought. It is true that when a strategy is particularly cumbersome that teachers will abandon it because it was too hard (even though they are attempting to compensate for a weakness of a different strategy). Teachers are over burdened and over stressed, so they unfortunately don’t have a lot of time to invest. Robert Ruark said ““When we take away from a man his traditional way of life, his customs, hi religion, we had better make certain to replace it with SOMETHING OF VALUE.” It is the same in the classroom. If you ask a teacher to give up their worksheets and novel units then you’d better be willing to replace them with something they think is valuable (and they’d better see that value quickly).

Leave a comment