Learning in a Digital World– Module 6

I realized that I am writing paper’s differently now (in my post-graduate course work) than I did in during my undergraduate and graduate work. Instead of constructing a traditional brainstorm, outline and notes-taking method that I once used, I find that now I read- jot down quotes that I think are compelling- and bounce around each section as the spirit moves me. Each time I change sections to write I find that I pause often to read more- to Google a thought- or to go back into the text. I’m not sure that my ‘new’ method of writing produces a quality product (and sometimes it feels a bit messy- this new way of writing), and I sometimes wonder if the Internet has pushed me to develop an attention deficit disorder.

While Connectivism might not be a learning theory, there is definitely some credence to Siemens & Downes (2006) idea.   The Internet has changed how learners access information (at the very least), and definitely given people ways to connect to a large body of specialized knowledge. Learners do need to know how to evaluate Internet sources for credibility, how to effectively find search terms, and how to scrutinize claims within those sources. According to a recent Time article http://techland.time.com/2013/06/24/reminder-you-can-learn-anything-on-the-internet/ one can learn anything on the web. This means that the ability to scrutinize, and prioritize information is crucial.

References:

Driscoll, M. P. (2005). Psychology of learning for instruction (3rd ed.).Boston: Pearson Education, Inc.

Siemens. G. (2006). Knowing knowledge. KnowingKnowledge.com Electronic book. http://www.knowingknowledge.com/ Retrieved from http://www.Lulu.com

One thought on “Learning in a Digital World– Module 6”

  1. Hi Jeannie, I agree with your assessment of the impact of the web. I’m not sure about becoming ADD, but It seems I’m more dyslexic. With regards to quality information, I tend to use Google Scholar, not just Google, however, I prefer to use the Walden library database, especially Proquest. In fact, the only time I use a Google is to find relevant blogs for this course.

Leave a comment